yeah….

Man a-live!   I haven’t posted in for-ever…..and apparently I’m talking like a teenage girl, or something.  Well, I promised you the story of our trip to Illinois and I came to deliver.  We drove down on Friday (8/19) (check out these pics:  ) and had a late lunch at THE best pub in Springfield.  Springfield is known for horseshoes which are basically an open-faced sandwich like this: a piece of Texas toast, hamburger patty (or whatever meat you like), fries covering the plate and sandwich and everything is drenched in cheese sauce.  It is SOOOOOO good!  Here’s D’Arcy’s, home of the best horseshoes.
That evening we just hung out with DH’s friend Greg, Dad, & brother.  Saturday we went to DH’s class reunion….it was a blast….yes, I’m being sarcastic.  DH had a good time of course, but it wasn’t my reunion, I didn’t know anybody.  Plus, a girl DH had a big-time crush on in high school was there so I was pretty jealous about that….I know, I’m petty (and insecure about the whole weight thing, but I digress).  Earlier in the day I went to Knit Wits & bought me some Cascade Fixation…..it made me feel good about the reunion.  Sunday I had breakfast at my friend Jenn’s house and it was awesome to see her.  She has a full-time job and a part-time job so she’s REALLY busy, hence the breakfast instead of another get together.  KT liked chasing around Jenn’s 3 legged cat Serena…easy prey  We also stopped by Greg’s apartment and he snapped these pics with his camera phone:
  
Not too bad huh?  KT really liked the giant dog Greg uses to keep his doors open.  Monday we went to visit KT’s Godparents in St Louis.  Sarah-Kate is pregnant with their second child so (like I was in the first trimester) she wasn’t up for doing much, which was fine with me.  We hung out at their new home while DH was on a client visit.  Here are a couple pics of the day:
 
WJ (the son of KT’s Godparents) is 17 months and he is a bruiser!  He was 27 pounds at 6 months but he pretty much levelled off after that.  It’s kinda funny because KT is at the other end of the spectrum (17#, 28").  We got back to Springfield later that night and the next morning we drove up to Galesburg to see my Dad and brother at the dealership.  We then made our way to my home town, K-town.  I got a phone call at my parents’ house from one of my former classmates regarding a last minute reunion over labor day.  It was kind of a fun blast from the past but I have done way too much traveling.  That evening we had dinner at my parents’ house and KT made friends with my brother’s rat Jacques:
 
Don’t be grossed out…domesticated rats actually make great pets.  I had a rat in college named Gus and he was the BEST!  I was devestated when he died  Again, I digress….my Grandparents stopped by after dinner.  On Wednesday my Dad took the morning off of work and his dad stopped by (my Papa).  We had lunch with my Mom and then we were back to Minnesota! 
So that’s our vacation to Illinois in a nutshell.  If you’ve made it this far, congratulations, you get to see some more pictures!
   
Have a great day!
About Beth

I'm a SAHM, knitter, spinner, occasional runner & hermit.
This entry was posted in Family & Friends. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to yeah….

  1. Unknown says:

    Sounds like you had a great time in Illinois. I wish I could\’ve gotten to SnB earlier this morning to hear all about it in person. Good seeing you and KT after such a long time.

Leave a Reply

