So Uncool

I am TOTALLY uncool, here’s why…..friday, I went with some ladies from work to see Greg Behrendt.  He was hillarious!!!  He used to be a consultant for Sex & the City and he co-authored He’s Just Not That Into You.  If you get a chance to see him, I highly recommend it.  I wore my 2-voli as I had planned and got great reviews on it & I also got compliments on my weight loss, so hooray me  I got back late from the show so I was pretty much useless on saturday.  I did, however, finish the Rib & Cable socks that afternoon.  Here they are in all their glory:
Tall Rib & Cable Socks 1  Tall Rib & Cable Socks 2  Tall Rib & Cable Socks 3
The pics can also be seen in my FO photo album.  When I first saw Eunny knits’ tall Norwegian Stockings, I knew I had to have a pair of knee-high socks of my own (I got even more excited when I saw her Mini-Argyle stockings)!  I based these puppies on the Rib & Cable socks from the Fall ’05 IK.  Clearly I didn’t follow the pattern (but Natalie did if you’d like to see them) so here is what I did:  I used Paton’s Classic Merino in "That’s Pink" and size 4 (3.5mm) needles with a gauge of 5.5sts & 9 rows per inch ; I started from the toe up; I did a weird short-row heel and added a single strand of Lion’s Brand microspun*; I increased every 6 rows up the calf to get the shaping, and added elastic to the last 4 rows of plain ribbing.  You can totally tell the quality of the merino in the yarn isn’t as high as um, say Artyarns Supermerino or Koigu but the price is also quite a bit cheaper…you get what you pay for!  It took 2 skeins to make these and I had just a little ball left over when I was finished.  The sad thing about this….I’ve already started my next pair of socks  What is with me?!  I’ve gone sock crazy all of a sudden!  Have a great day!
 
 
*Microspun has 6 strands loosely spun together to create the yarn.  It makes it a bitch to knit with since it splits easily, but it makes it easy to separate.  It’s 100% acrylic so I added it to the 100% wool heel to make it a little more durable.
About Beth

I'm a SAHM, knitter, spinner, occasional runner & hermit.
This entry was posted in Finished Objects. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to So Uncool

  1. Unknown says:

    They look great! It would\’ve taken a lot of Koigu or Artyans to make knee socks… Far be it from me to give anyone grief about being a chain sock knitter!

  2. Unknown says:

    Welcome to the club!!! They look very sweet. I just found the pattern and it\’s in my vacation stash pile.

  3. Unknown says:

    Your socks look great!  I can\’t wait to see them in person and to hear all about them.  I cannot imagine knitting kneehighs for myself – that would take a lot of yarn and a lot of time!

Leave a Reply

