Purple & Blue Socks

Purple-licious!!
Pattern: My own, based on Widdershins
Yarn:  Koigu left over from corrugated socks
Gauge:  9 sts & 12.5 rows=1" on size 1.5 (2.5mm) needles
Finished 08/19/06
This entry is LONG overdue.  I’ve had these puppies done for almost a week and I’m just posting about them now?!  Eeesh!  If you are leary of trying toe-up socks because you haven’t found a heel you like, you have got to try Widdershins.  She basically deconstructed a top-down sock and turned it around and this pattern is even better than the one I posted.  I made some changes in the heel by doing a eye of partridge heel instead of a regular slip stitch one.  I also plugged my gauge into the Arachne Sock Calculator to get the proper increases for the leg.  The stripe pattern is a Fibonacci sequence of 2, 2, 4, 6, 10; not a tradition Fibonacci, but in the same vein.  I also must say that Koigu makes AAAAAAWESOOOOOME socks.  Or maybe it’s the size 1.5 needles, I can’t decided.  The Koigu is like chocolate for the feet; it is so soft and such a joy to work with, I can totally see why everyone knits the Charlotte’s Web Shawl.  The size 1.5 needles (Addi Turbo size 1) also made these socks feel wonderful.  I don’t know what it is, but the tighter gauge made these feel like a dream!  Either way, Koigu+2.5mm needles=great socks!!!
Another shot
About Beth

I'm a SAHM, knitter, spinner, occasional runner, weaver & hermit.
This entry was posted in Finished Objects. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Purple & Blue Socks

  1. Unknown says:

    Oh how sweet…by the way – I\’m a total toe-up gal now!!

Leave a Reply

