Envious

I don’t know if anyone has noticed, but every so often I have words underlined.  If you hold your mouse over the underlined word you’ll get a little surprise!
So many TC knitters made the trek to Eau Claire Wisconsin to see the famous Yarn Harlot, Stephanie Pearl-McPheeChris, Deb, Kelle, Meleah, Shelly, Tipper are the chicks that I know but it looks like there were quite a few others who attended as well.  I supposed I could have hitched a ride if I really wanted to, but I’m still holding out until The Harlot comes here…that plus I haven’t finished the Snowdrop Shawl yet   Speaking of miss Chris at Stumbling Over Chaos, she got a little sister for Chaos named May.  Stop by and say ‘hi’ to Chris’ new baby!  She also informed me that there is a tutorial for making a niddy-noddy with pvc pipe.  The changes I made were that I used 3/4" pipe and the pipe in the middle that was only 14" to account for the length of the "T" connectors.  I find that the thicker pipe makes it more sturdy and the shorter length makes the yarn 2 yards for each pass (easier to figure out how much yarn I’ve spun).  I also didn’t glue the niddy so I could take it apart for easier storage.
I haven’t been knitting very much.  I’ve been working on the spindle socks and I’m back to nearly the heel.  I’m a little worried because the foot has such chunky stripes (they’re about 1" apiece) so I’m afraid it’ll look kind of strange with the fair isle pattern on the leg.  We shall see!  I picked up Folk Socks by Nancy Bush from the library, I’m hoping it’ll give me some inspiration and help me decided what to do with the spindle socks.  I’m still spinning up the merino roving but it’s slow going.  It’s hard with KT because I can’t stop as easily as I do with knitting. When I’m knitting, I can just set my stuff down and take care of things, but when I’m spinning I have to stop the spindle, wind the yarn on and make sure the fiber is wrapped loosely.  Not a big deal, but it’s harder for me to find the time to do it.  I kind of what a wheel but not bad enough to really do the research, know what I mean? 
Saturday I worked at the pet hospital again.  It went well, we saw more cats than usual; I don’t know what that was all about but at least they were good cats.  Although one of them (an exotic shorthair, I think) gave me a terrible allergy attack.  I started sneezing uncontrollably and my eyes started watering.  I was a mess, thank goodness for diphenhydramine.  The highlight of the day was that I got Caribou before work….mmmmmmmm, coffee  Tomorrow is KT’s first day of ECFE. I’m interested to see how the ECFE classes work with little kids. My main reason for going is to get KT more interaction with kids her age. Other than toddler school tomorrow, I’ll probably be doing more cleaning because the house is a SERIOUS sty!
And on a sad note, today is the 5 year anniversary of september 11th.  I remember, I was listening to Bob & Tom when one of the people said that an airplane hit one of the World Trade Centers and I thought ‘that’s not funny, why would they say that!’  Unfortunately, I turned on the TV and saw it wasn’t a joke.  I didn’t know anyone who was killed and I don’t have a heartfelt tribute so all I will say is that what happened changed the face of America and I hope something of this magnitude will never happen again!
 
About Beth

I'm a SAHM, knitter, spinner, occasional runner & hermit.
This entry was posted in Miscellaneous. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Envious

  1. Unknown says:

    Hey Beth!
     
    I feel for yah!  I was not at the Harlot event either – we will have something to talk about tomorrow when everyone else is talking about their weekend!
     
    Connie
    http://www.scrapovers.com/blog

  2. Elizabeth says:

    E-mailed from Chris:
    Thanks for the kitty welcome at your blog! 🙂 That is a nifty feature with the underlined text. 🙂 Chrishttp://www.stumblingoverchaos.com/

Leave a Reply

