Ahhh, Socks…..

Lolly posted today about her first pair of socks and had a couple questions included as well.  I thought it would be fun to post my answers:
  • When did you start making socks? Did you teach yourself or were you taught by a friend or relative? or in a class?
    My first pair of socks were knit in 2003.  I made them WAY to big so I frogged and re-knit them.  I followed a pattern from Lionbrand but used a different yarn.  I learned a lot from that first pair.
  • What was your first pair?  How have they "held up" over time?
    They’ve held up remarkably well, but I don’t wear them very often.  There’s some pilling on the heels otherwise, no holes.
  • What would you have done differently?
    I would have used smaller needles.  I think I used size 4’s even though the label had a smaller size listed.  Again, I learned that socks are supposed to be knit tight.
  • What yarns have you particularly enjoyed?
    KOIGU & ARTYARNS!  I’ve heard Lorna’s Laces are supposed to be nice…I’ll have to try it sometime.  I also like Wildfoote for it’s durability
  • Do you like to crochet your socks? or knit them on DPNs, 2 circulars, or using the Magic Loop method?
    Never tried crocheting socks.  I’ve knit on DPNs but prefer Magic Loop.  I’ve only tried 2 circ’s once and didn’t care for it.
  • Which kind of heel do you prefer?  (flap? or short-row?)
    I really prefer the heel flap.  I’ve knit the short-row a couple of times, but the heel is just too tight.  The last time I used a short-row, I increased a few stitches before the heel and that worked much better.
  • How many pairs have you made?
  • I’m around 13.
So, what does one do when she has a serious backlog of sock yarn?  Why she goes out and buys even more sock yarn!  Last week I made a trip to Yarnzilla to buy Folk Socks.  I got 2 blues (Slate #5744 & Mist #5813) and a cream (Natural #20); the blues will be the main part of the sock and the cream will be the contrast section near the top.  If you haven’t already seen these socks, check out Eunny‘s version or Purlywhites to see the original from the book.  I am ITCHING to start these socks, I don’t know why.  Of course I also saw on Lolly’s site that Petra is having a witch sock contest and even though I’m not planning on entering, I still want to make witch socks.
Witchy Socktoberfest
Today I ordered KnitPicks Essential in African Violet & Black and some Bare in the same weight.  As if I don’t have enough freakin’ sock yarn!!!!  I probably won’t even get them done this month….I swear that DH is going to flip when he sees the credit card bill  Sigh…..
Have a great day!
 
About Beth

I'm a SAHM, knitter, spinner, occasional runner & hermit.
This entry was posted in Socks & Such. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

