Is It Me?

So what do you do when you have a butt-load of projects on the needles?  Why you cast on for another one!  At least this one is a quicky.
 
Click for Bigger Pic     Click for Bigger Pic
Pattern:  Inspired by pocket headband by Amy Finlay of Knitting Help fame
Yarn:  Cascade Fixation color #2137 (light blue) less than 1 ball
Gauge:  6.5 sts =1″ on size 6 (4.25mm) needles but gauge isn’t crucial-the band is approx. 2.25″ wide.
Finished 6/14/07
 
I really liked the Knitty Gritty episode featuring pockets on a headband and garter.  I think I liked the idea more than anything especially since most of my clothes don’t have pockets and I love pockets!  I liked the pattern featured for the headband, but I didn’t really care for the plain stitch pattern so I substituted one of my favorite lace stitches, the gull wing.  I finished this puppy in just 2 days, but I’m sure it could be completed quicker if I’d really tried.  Here’s how I did my headband although I do recommend you read the description over at DIY (it gives some good tips working with the elastic yarn):
CO 15 stitches with the long-tail method.  Follow the chart at the bottom for lace pattern or read the words:
Row 1, 3 & 5: Knit
Row 2: K5, k2tog, yo, k1, yo, ssk (or sl1 knitwise, k1, psso), k5
Row 4: K4, k2tog, yo, k3, yo, ssk (or see row 2), k4
Row 6: K3, k2tog, yo, k5, yo, ssk (or see row 2), k3
*The rest of the directions are like Miss Finlay’s pattern*
Repeat these 6 rows until the band can stretch around your noggin…and I do mean S-T-R-E-T-C-H!  Now repeat these 6 rows until you have 4″-5″ more than you need to fit around your head.  Bind-off and overlap the 2 ends.  Whipstitch around the sides and 1 of the edges (either CO or BO, whichever isn’t as pretty) to create the pocket (i.e. whipstitch in a “U” shape, down one side, across the bottom and up the other side).  When you weave in your ends do it LOOSELY and leave a long tail.  As you wear the headband with something in the pocket it will stretch and become looser; just pickout your ends, overlap a little more and whipstich again when this happens.  If you don’t like my lace pattern try one that you like, just be sure to do it in garter stitch because it acts like ribbing and will allow the most stretch.  If you do make my version I would love to see it!  Just e-mail me at bethblueroom AT hotmail DOT com
 
Gull Wing Lace Chart

About Beth

I'm a SAHM, knitter, spinner, occasional runner & hermit.
This entry was posted in Finished Objects. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Is It Me?

  1. Unknown says:

    It is TOTALLY you!!! Very cute.

Leave a Reply

