Dying to Know

I went ahead and dyed my KnitPicks BARE yarn and let me give you a couple tips.  If you’re attempting self-striping yarn a la Eunny or Ginabeana, tie off the gigantic hank in MANY places.  You’d think that would be common sense, but I’ve never been accused of having much of that.  Also, if you’re doing 2 skeins at once it might be a better idea to combine them into 1 skein and divide it up after it’s been dyed & dried.  Again, you’d think these things would be common sense.  Anyway, I used Betty Crocker food color gel (2 tsp per section, more on that later) and the colors seemed more vibrant than using Kool-Aid.  Now, when I’ve used Kool-Aid I’ve typically only used 1 packet so perhaps if I used 2 or more the colors would turn out better….who knows. 
The dying process went well.  I made up a dye liquor as described in the Knitty Gritty episode with Scout and I was surprised at how much better the yarn took up the dye.  Again, I supposed that if I used more Kool-Aid and made the same liquor it would work better than what I’ve done in the past.  So now that I’ve done all this work I’m not sure that I like the resultSad  I made a pair of baby socks with it and they look fine for a little kid, but I’m debating on how it’ll look on a 31 yr old woman.  *Le sigh*  I just love the boneheaded things I doEye-rolling
 
About Beth

I'm a SAHM, knitter, spinner, occasional runner, weaver & hermit.
This entry was posted in Socks & Such. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

