Céad míle beannachta

Oh pooh….this is a day lateSad  I hope everyone had fun on St Patrick’s Day and didn’t get too tipsy.  And yes, I’m part Irish on both sides; my Great-great-great grandmother, Ellen Woodland was born in Dublin so my father is 3/4 Norwegian, 1/8 Welsh, 1/16 English & 1/16 Irish.  My mother is more of a mystery but according to her grandfather their side of the family is Dutch, Irish & Scottish (his last name was Smith which makes geneology more challenging).
On to other things Irish…..My favorite Irish saying is:
May those who love us, Love us.
And those who do not love us,
May God turn their hearts.
And if He doesn’t turn their hearts,
May He turn their ankles,
So we’ll know them by their limping.
 
I’m easily amused. 
My favorite curse is póg mo thóin.  My old boss taught me that oneTongue out  And here’s me in my finished Shedir:
So I hope you enjoyed your corned beef and cabbage and the next time you have a wee bit of the creature, check out this site for Gaelic Toasts:  http://irish.spike-jamie.com/gaelic.html
About Beth

I'm a SAHM, knitter, spinner, occasional runner & hermit.
This entry was posted in Just Bloggin'. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

