What Do You Think?

I first read about Lion Brand’s new sock yarn on the Yarn Harlot and I must say I eagerly awaited it’s arrival for the masses.  Why?  Well this may sound crazy but one of my favorite pairs of socks are these:
Love these guys
Sure they’re my first toe-up sock which made me love the method of starting at the toe, but more importantly they look the same as the day I completed them 2 1/2 years ago.  And believe me they don’t look the same because I’m not wearing them!  Now that’s not to say I don’t love my koigu socks because they are super soft and the colors are gorgeous:
 
The corrugated socks are nice but I knit them at too big a gauge.  I followed a pattern which called for size 3 needles….lesson learned.  Tighter socks=more comfortable socks.  I had more luck with the second pair of koigu’s and they are also one of my favorites.  However I fear they won’t last too long even with reinforcing thread in the heels.  Cindy said she wouldn’t make socks out of koigu again because they wore out so quickly.
So back to the cheapy socks….they aren’t as soft as koigu or as pretty but seriously people they are tough!  There’s something to be said for using corser yarn for socks.  The tabi socks I made using Kroy socks are also in the same vain (and also one of my favorites) with the corser wool (and nylon). 
My only fear with those socks is that I have to wear them on the same feet so they won’t get as even wear as my other socks do.  So what do you think?  What is your favorite type of sock yarn?  Do you prefer softer or rougher?  Do you like nylon or mohair or just wool?  Or do you use sock yarn for everything but socks?
 
About Beth

I'm a SAHM, knitter, spinner, occasional runner, weaver & hermit.
This entry was posted in Socks & Such. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

