Tit for Tat

Back in june DH bought himself a guitar. I very nice acoustic guitar. Well that decent sized purchase gave me the courage to ask if I could get a spinning wheel. I’ve been wanting one pretty much since I started spinning back in 2005. DH gave me the ‘OK’ but asked me to wait until august when he got his review. It’s august:) Last monday I made the trip north to Detta’s Spindle. I’d gone to Detta’s back in 2006 because I was looking for help with my first spindle. I ended up buying a new spindle (my Kokovoko) & coming away thinking that if/when I buy a wheel, I’m buying from her! She was quite helpful and very nice. I was amazed at how patient she was with both me (the newbie spinner) & Miss KT (the curious toddler). Anyway, I knew that I wanted a parlor or upright wheel because they don’t take up as much space & I had I good idea of what brand I wanted as well. I still tried a couple, one of which was the Schacht Ladybug. Let me tell you how hard that was to resist….or those of you who don’t know, I ❤ ladybugs. What’s worse is that Detta said I could take the Ladybug she had in the shop! Aye, aye, aye! Unfortunately my practicality won out & even though she didn’t have one in stock I ordered the much cheaper Ashford Kiwi. I figure that JUST IN CASE something were to happen (re: the wee folk & their curiosity) I wouldn’t be as heartbroken or mad at the $$ lost. Well it took a week, but my wheel arrived yesterday & I LOVE IT! I’ve found little snippets of time here & there to practice, but really it’s been more getting to know the wheel itself. I gotta tell ya, learning to spin on a spindle first made it very easy to move to the wheel! Prepare to see some more handspun yarn😉
Beth http://bethblueroom.spaces.live.com>
The pictures are of the carved Kiwi bird on the pedal (both plain & painted) & of the wheel itself.

About Beth

I'm a SAHM, knitter, spinner, occasional runner & hermit.
This entry was posted in Spin It Baby!. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

