Spinning!

If you do not spin and do not want to read about spinning then I suggest you turn away now….still here?  Good, here’s what I’ve been up to for the past several weeks.  It was too hot to knit at the beginning of august.  I never thought I would ever say that, "It’s too hot to knit?!"  I suppose that isn’t entirely the case, however I’ve found that only holding a small strand of fiber in my hands is more comforting than holding a whole project.  It’s probably just a phase, but I’ve been enjoying it thoroughly!  I’ve spun up several bobbins of my maroon superwash merino, tried spinning from the fold, navajo plied, finally figured worsted spinning and bought a little toy.  I’ll start at the beginning…
Dark Red Fiber
Click to Enlarge
I am so much happier with how my single-ply is looking and I love at how consistent my spinning is becoming!  I hate to say it but spinning really is about practice and doing just a little each day really helps.  You’d be amazed at the kind of rhythm you develop.
New Stuff
Click for the Pretty Still Needs Practice
I got this great colorful wool but wasn’t sure how to spin it.  I remember reading about spinning from the fold as a way to preserve the colors in a varigated fiber.  It was kind of awkward and I don’t think it’s something I would do regularly but it did allow me to control the color placement.  I also used Navajo plying for the same reason.  I’m sure I’ll be using that technique again it was pretty easy once I got the hang of it.
Worsted Spinning
I don’t know why it took me so long to figure out how to spin in a worsted yarn?  I don’t mean a worsted weight, I mean worsted yarn.  It’s weird, I know.  Anyway, it’s dumb but I finally realized that if I tighten my brake-band it makes the spun fiber go onto the bobbin quicker which makes it so much easier to keep the spin out of the drafting zone….duh-er?!  You know what I mean spinners.
New Companion
I only have the original 3 bobbins that came with my wheel.  Crazy, huh?  When I have a full bobbin, I wind off the yarn onto a toilet paper tube & number it.  I know that sounds weird, but I read about such a technique from Amy King.  But that is not the point I’m trying to make here.  My point is that even though I don’t have fancy accessories for my wheel I do have a cup holder.  A cup holder!!!!! 
Sweet Cup Action
I was so excited when I found out it was delievered I ran to the mailbox late at night in my pj’s!  Yes, I know I’m a huge dork.  Have a great day!
 
 
Subscribe in NewsGator Online 
Add to Google 
About Beth

I'm a SAHM, knitter, spinner, occasional runner, weaver & hermit.
This entry was posted in Spin It Baby!. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

