*Cross-eyed*

Where to begin…….
3 weeks ago my family and I made the trek back to the Midwest for Christmas.  It was your typical family affair, but what was nice was that I was able to meet my little niece:
  cousins K & A  Cutie!
A-Dor-Able!!!!  What was really great was that my brother asked me to be one of her godparents.  I was so touched I didn’t know what to say!  It really was a special honor to sponsor my little niece, although it did get me thinking that W still hasn’t been baptized yet and I really want to do so, but haven’t found the right time for us.  Anyway, Niece "A" was also baptized on my Dad’s birthday which I thought was very special. 
A's parents & godparents
We had Christmas at my parents’ house and lunch at my Aunt Peggy’s.  I saw my cousins Mike & Michelle and her family.  I can’t believe Michelle’s oldest son is in high school…..he was the ring bearer at our wedding!!  More pictures can be found in my july-december album.
The day after Christmas we headed south to spend time with DH’s family and get some GOOD FOOD!!!  If there is one thing I really miss about living in Springfield, IL it’s got to be the food:  Horseshoes at D’Arcy’s, Honey-spiced chicken at Golden Dragon, Pizza at Luca’s, etc, etc!  Needless to say, we ate well while visiting the in-laws.  We also spent my FIL’s birthday with him; he’s a New Year’s Eve baby.  My SIL & her boyfriend also came down from Chicago to spend a few days with everyone.
The best part of the trip?  It’s about as close to a vacation as I can get!  With family who don’t get to see the little people very often, they’re more than willing to spend as much time as they possibly can with K & W.  Naturally this means I get some much needed free time and as a result, more knitting:o)  I finished the Jultomte for Mom (Christmas gift), a little doll for A & the Joker socks for me!  It was pretty awesome!  The only downside is that I didn’t bring much knitting with me in hopes of finishing the Joker socks before the Cubs win the World Series end of time.  Well, I did finish the socks and had nothing else to work on.  Luckily there’s a yarn store in Springfield (Knit Wits) so I bought a bunch of Dale of Norway Baby Ull to make Thermal.  Yes, I have decided to go completely off the deep end and torture myself by making a sweater in fingering weight yarn on size 3.25 mm needles.  It’s fantastic.  I started with the sleeve basically so that I could have a useable swatch….if gauge matches I keep going, if not, there’s not much to rip out.
So that’s the quick and dirty version of my last month.  How was your holiday season?  Make any trips?  See anything fun?  I’d love to hear what everyone’s been up to:o)
 
 
About Beth

I'm a SAHM, knitter, spinner, occasional runner, weaver & hermit.
This entry was posted in Family & Friends. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

